Home > Uncategorized > Foot Reconstruction A Success!

Foot Reconstruction A Success!

I made it through my 2nd foot reconstruction with flying colors! On November 19, I had a cavovarus foot reconstruction of my right foot, to fix the the deformities caused by Charcot Marie Tooth. As I posted before, a non-healing neuropathic foot ulcer necessitated me having the surgery at this point. I knew I would have to eventually have it, but I was hoping I would have been able to put it off a little longer. However, I’m glad it’s now behind me.

For those familiar with medical “lingo”, the procedures I had done included a Dwyer calcaneal osteotomy, peroneus longus to brevis transfer, first metatarsal losing wedge osteotomy, 5th metatarsal head ex osteotomy, Jones transfer, posterior tib release, toes 2-4 hammertoe corrections.

ImageImageImageImage

As you can see from the pics, the surgeon did a LOT of sewing!

I had a similar “reconstruction” done last year, although I didn’t have the hammertoe corrections.

The pain has been manageable this time. Due to the neuropathy, the Anesthesiologist didn’t do a nerve block, but due to excruciating pain (despite a Diluadid infusion/PCA pump), I was taken back to the PACU that night and another Anesthesiologist did 2 nerve blocks, which made the pain tolerable. Now, I’m able to get by with Tylenol and an occasional Tylenol #3.

I’m looking forward to FINALLY getting back to walking. I haven’t been doing any due to the pain from the pressure on the outside of my right foot while in my Ankle Foot Orthosis; there was an extreme amount of pressure on the outside of my foot due to the deformity. I can now get rid of the AFO, and once the cast is off, will be put in a “boot” (Bledsoe?) for a few weeks, and after that, will only need a hard plastic in-the-shoe orthotic insert.

My hemoglobin did drop down to 10.1 post op, but as of last week, I’m back up to 11.8.

As for my kidney transplant status, no “medical misadventures” this time. (here and here)

As you may remember, I had gone off of the Leflunomide back in May, which was used to keep the BK virus suppressed. I had a jump in BK in October from 600 to 5100, and was mildly concerned that it may become a problem, but as of my last check (last week), NO BK! If I’m not mistaken, this is the first that it was negative since April 2009!

Image

I’ve been off CellCept since August 2009, but since my kidney is doing well just on Tacrolimus, the Transplant Surgeon told me that he probably won’t restart the CellCept, even if the BK goes into remission.

I sure hope that I’m done with any medical “speed bumps” for the foreseeable future.

Image

  1. Barb
    December 7, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    Happy to hear your surgery went well – no medical mishaps – and no BK virus! How exciting!
    The cast is quite festive!

    • December 14, 2012 at 11:03 pm

      Thanks Barb. Yes, very happy that the BK is in remission. I got a new cast today; same festive color scheme!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment