Home > Health, Transplant > Lab Error

Lab Error

September 13, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

I had great news today.  Apparently, the last urine BK virus specimen that came back with >700,000 copies. was a lab error.  Or, as my transplant coordinator called it, a “fluke”.

I had a repeat urine done on Monday, and there are only 500 copies of virus in my urine.  Not 500, 000, but 500.  I was diagnosed with BK virus in July, 2009, and at the time, I had greater than 39 MILLION copies in my urine.  Since then, it has intermittently been in my blood as well, but my serum BK was negative last week.

So I have to wonder how effective the Leflunomide actually was.

Now, I’ll get my urine checked for BK monthly.  That’s a BIG load off of my mind!

  1. Barb
    September 14, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    Happy to hear your good news!

    • September 15, 2012 at 8:29 am

      Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

