Home > BK Virus, Health, Transplant > Hospitalization May 2011

Hospitalization May 2011

What a difference 3 weeks make (since my last post).  At that point, I had just gotten home the day prior from the hospital after my foot surgery, and had been prescribed Fluconazole (aka Diflucan).

This past Wednesday, I went in for my routine quarterly transplant appointment that had been postponed a month due to my surgery.  It wasn’t a good week; our 15 year old Springer Spaniel died on Monday, and my son locked the keys in our vehicle when I was going to my transplant appointment.  When the Transplant Nephrologist came in, he looked at my labs, and had a look of surprise on his face.  While my creatinine usually runs between 1.1 to 1.3, it was 2.1, with a GFR of 34%!  I was admitted to the hospital that day for Acute Renal Failure, and was in for 2 nights.  I had a renal ultrasound, and there was no obstruction, and my transplanted kidney has good blood flow.

It turns out that I went into failure from Prograf toxicity (level of 21.8!).  In addition, my BK virus, which was 7000 copies in my urine last month (mistakenly reported at that time in last month’s post as 7700), shot up to 912,000 copies on Wednesday, no doubt from the oversuppression from the high Prograf level.  This was all due to an interaction between the Prograf and the Fluconazole.

At this point, they decreased my Prograf from 3mg in am and 2 mg in PM, to 2/1.  I will have labs next Thursday, and if my creatinine is improved, they will probably just watch it for now. If it isn’t improving, I’ll be getting a kidney biopsy. “Chronic disease with a positive attitude”  is a bit difficult this week, but I’ll keep trying.

Until next time….

  1. Barb
    May 15, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    Oh, no! I am so sorry to hear about the drug interaction and your kidney failure and hospitalization! I sure hope and pray that your creatinine is okay at your next labs and the toxicity is better! Sorry to hear about your dog, too. I know you’ve written about all of them over the years.
    So your GFR of 34 was correct even with a transplant? I’ve never known if those numbers correspond to transplants or not.

    Sure hope things get better for you soon!

    • May 16, 2011 at 11:31 am

      Thanks, Barb. My GFR prior to this was always >60%, so this is a large drop. It’s a long wait until I have labs on Thursday, especially since I’m sitting in the recliner all day elevating my leg due to the surgery.

      • Barb
        May 17, 2011 at 4:30 pm

        Only a couple more days to go!
        Time can get so long waiting for results – that is for sure!

        Here’s to better numbers and your foot healing!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

