Home > Health, March 2010 > March 2010 BK Virus Update

March 2010 BK Virus Update

I had my monthly labs last week, and overall they were good.

My creatinine is still 1.2, my blood counts are stable (my hemoglobin will never be in the normal range due to my Thalassemia; it’s in the high 12 range), and my Prograf level is 8.2 (right at where the docs want it to be, although at the high end of normal)

The level of BK virus in my blood dropped a bit, from 800 copies to 500 copies. It’s obviously still a concern, as I’ve been off my CellCept since last Summer, and I still have BK virus in my blood and urine, but it’s a low level of virus.  I’ll discuss this with the Transplant Surgeon at my appt later this month, but I’m sure that if they were concerned, they would be more aggressive with this.

Despite the immunosuppression, I am able to stay free of most infections, despite working as a RN in Pediatrics.  It’s not the common infections that are worrisome though, such as colds and stomach viruses, but rather the opportunistic infections like fungal infections or unusual viral infections (such as BK virus).  But I don’t worry about those; whatever happens happens, and I just do my best to avoid the ones I can, and keep on keepin’ on.

The only remotely recurrent problem I have is with my sinuses, and even that isn’t too bad.  I take a nasal steroid daily, and that helps.  However, I end up on antibiotics once or twice a year.  I recently read a report that many sinus infections are of fungal origin, and not bacteria. Unfortunately, I can’t find the link to the article.  When I find the article,  I’ll post it to the comments below.

I have a new online friend (Nancy), who donated one of her kidneys to her father.  She’s a regular reader of my blog, and found me doing a search on BK virus.  Her father just had a kidney biopsy, and they found BK in his kidney.  He’s thankfully doing better; please send out your prayers and/or positive thoughts for him.

BK is becoming a hot topic in the Transplant Community, but not a lot is known about it.  I think we’ll be hearing more about it.  Knowledge is power, and we need to be aware of this issue to be better informed, so that if/when it happens, we can deal with it better.

My foot continues to be a small problem (pain every day), but I’m now able to go for my daily walk.  I feel better doing so, and the benefits of walking outweigh the daily pain.  I still have a small superficial pressure ulcer, but it’s not worsening.  I just have to monitor it, and if it worsens, I’ll be back to the Podiatrist.  Just a speed bump along the way….

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

