Home > Health, May 2009 > 1st Kidney-versary

1st Kidney-versary

It’s hard to believe, but it was exactly 1 year ago that I received my kidney transplant!

I’ve been very fortunate. The only “issue” I had was anemia for the first 6 months, which turned out to be drug induced (either the Valcyte or the Dapsone), but once I stopped those in November, my blood counts returned to my baseline.  Oh, and of course there was the dreaded HIV scare, but that was nothing more than a “scare” (all because someone ordered the wrong lab work).

Through all of those years of gradually going into kidney failure, and then dialysis, the difference is striking. The mental fog of kidney failure is a memory (pun intended), I’m off all blood pressure meds for the first time in almost 20 years, I can drink an many fluids as I want now, I can eat foods with phosphorous and potassium without having to worry about limiting them or taking pills to prevent absorption,  I don’t need naps anymore, and I haven’t had severe muscle cramps since being on dialysis (muscle cramps from dialysis are one of only 2 types of pain that has ever brought tears to my eyes; the other was when I had ruptured kidney cysts).

Of course, nothing is guaranteed, and someday I may very well return to going back on dialysis,  but for now, I’m enjoying my new life.  And again, many thanks to the family of my deceased donor for choosing to donate her organs upon her death.

  1. Janet
    May 3, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Congratulations! You are about 3 weeks ahead of me in transplantation, so I watched your progress with great interest last year at this time, and since. We are very blessed!

    • May 3, 2009 at 4:29 pm

      Congratulations to you as well! I hope everything is going well for you too.

  2. Marlene
    May 3, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    Happy One Year Anniversary!!!! I’ve been following your blog and am so happy that you are doing so well!
    Here’s to many, many, many healthy decades with your new kidney!

    Hugs,
    Marlene

  3. misswaxie
    May 4, 2009 at 12:09 am

    Jeff …reading this I’m so very happy for you and for your sister. Your outlook, your story, its utterly wonderful. Can’t wait to hear where you’ll be by your 2nd kidney-versary!

    – Miss Waxie

    • May 4, 2009 at 7:29 am

      Thanks Miss Waxie. I hope the 2nd year is as good as the first!

  4. May 4, 2009 at 9:04 am

    I pray there be many more kidneyversarries for you. I’m 7month post and I read your blog and one other since Jan.2008. Thanks for sharing and good luck.

    • May 4, 2009 at 9:13 am

      Thanks; I appreciate the prayers, and I’ll do the same for you.

      I hope everything is going well for you.

  5. pstarr999
    May 4, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    I new it was sometime around the beginning of May, but didn’t remember the exact date. Happy anniversary! That’s pretty wild that your sister got her kidney almost one year to the date after yours!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

