Home > Uncategorized > Another close call, monthly labs

Another close call, monthly labs

My sister was in the Emergency Department again today, but this visit was not an emergency. She got a call for a kidney, and was told to go to the ED.

As it turns out, the kidney was a no-go. The potential donor was a 50 year old with a head injury, but the surgeons apparently would not take the kidney, as it wasn’t suitable. 

I know that my sister is disappointed, but a transplant is not something to rush in to (I know, easy for me to say, but it’s true). It’s worth waiting for an optimal kidney, not only to prevent problems, but also, if you are transplanted once and it fails, it’s harder to match subsequent kidneys for transplant due to antibodies from the first transplant. Better to get a good one initially so that it will hopefully last longer.

She has been on the list for almost 3 years now, and has had several calls, but on a positive note, the calls are getting closer, and she was “1st in line” for this kidney. So it should be soon…

As for me, I had my monthly labs this week, and my creatinine is 1.1, which is the lowest ever since transplant.  My glucose was high, but it was non-fasting, so I’m not too worried about that yet.  My blood counts are good, although my lymphocytes are high-probably because of the bronchitis I’ve had this week (increased lymphs indicates a viral infection).

The only other issue is that I have what appears to be a blister on the top of my 2nd toe.  I had my doctor eyeball it, and he just told me to soak it in Epsom salts. I have to be careful due to my neuropathy; I have minimal sensation in my feet, along with decreased sensation to pain.  I held off on walking the past 2 days, and it is improving.

Have a great weekend. The weather here will be picture-perfect sunny and mid 50’s.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

