Home > March 2009, Uncategorized > Random postings

Random postings

It’s been a while since I posted, and I didn’t get a chance to update my last post. My sister is fine. She was admitted overnight after dialysis in the Emergency Dept, and then had dialysis the next day. The potassium problem was dietary.

I had my biannual check up with my PCP on Thursday (the “easy one”, where I got to keep my clothes on 🙂 ) . Other than a need to lose 12 lbs, everything is GREAT.  I’ve had a cold for the past 2-3 weeks off and on, and the past 2 days, I think I have touch of bronchitis. Most cases of bronchitis are viral, so I’ll just tough it out.

Today is the first Saturday morning in a LONG time that I didn’t have to go to work. It was interesting seeing how crowded the hardware store and Dunkin Donuts drive thru were at 11am today…

Last Sunday was my last day with the nursing agency that I’ve been working for. I’ve been with this particular case for over 6 years, and a prior case for 5 years. Yes, in addition to my full time job, I worked weekends for 11 years now, and it’s nice to take a break from that. Besides, the more money I make now, the more the government will confiscate from me…

I’ve been busy at my full-time job lately; we’ve been seeing a lot of sick children lately (in addition to the “well children” we always see). In addition, it’s that time of year when the school-avoiders have used up their absences, and are required by state law to have a doctor’s excuse for any further absences. It’s the same people calling for these all of the time. The Family Practice dept that we share space with have their drug seekers, we have our school excuse seekers…

What a difference a year makes. Last year at this time, Jackie was an Alternative Ed teacher in the local public school. Her pay was a little more than what she would make as a substitute, she had no benefits, no paid days off. Now, she is teaching Special Ed (Middle School Emotional Support) at a private school which specializes in Special Education, she has benefits, she gets paid time off, a paycheck in the summer, and was just given Employee of the Month! At the public school, they stuck her in a classroom in the basement and gave her no support whatsoever. Out of sight, out of mind.  She is much happier in her current job.

Digger decided to find himself a new toy Thursday night. We thought he was prancing around the back yard with one of the toys we bought him, but when he wouldn’t come in, I went out to check: he killed an adult rabbit, and was proudly running around the back yard with it in his mouth. We had a tough time getting him to put it down, but Jackie threatened him with a walking stick, he dropped it, and I tossed it over the fence into the tree line behind our back yard.

I’m originally from Luzerne County in Pennsylvania.  Politically, it’s always been a VERY corrupt county, but the Feds are on an arresting spree lately, including 2 judges, one of whom is an unindicted co-conspirator in a Federal cocaine case.  My cousin, an attorney in Luzerne County, who is in private practice and works for Children and Youth part time, is running for one of the open positions of Judge. For those of you living in Luzerne County, please consider voting for her. Although I’m biased, she is honest, and would do a great job (no risk of following in the footsteps of the admitted felons Ciavarella and Conahan). Here website is here.

Categories: March 2009, Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

