Home > Health > Getting Used To Less

Getting Used To Less

November 19, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Last night, I filled my med containers for the week, and it was very strange. Being that I have ended some of my meds, I have this feeling that I’m missing some. I’m not, but it’s hard to get used to only taking 5 pills in the morning, rather than 7 or 8.

After my appointment last week, something popped into my head: could the Valcyte have been causing my low hemoglobin, and need for continued Procrit? I’ll find out next month, when I get my labs done again. I continue getting my Procrit every Tuesday.

And that’s another thing; having gone from bi-weekly appointments and lab work to monthly, I feel as though I’m missing appointments. The change in frequency is hard to get used to, but it’s a GOOD thing.

I’m still walking every weekday at lunch, and Jackie and I have started taking the dogs out for a walk several nights a week.

Work continues to be very busy. The illness du jour right now is vomiting and diarrhea. I can rattle off the advice I give to parents in my sleep. It’s all cyclical; we’re starting to see Croup now, then there will be a lull before Christmas, and then we;ll start off the New Year with RSV and Influenza. Spring brings with it asthma and vomiting/diarrhea again, and after that, once the weather gets nice, we’ll start seeing injuries and swimmer’s ear. And it will start all over…

A while back, I was on my lunch break, and walking out to the food cart at work to get some lunch, and was behind a petite female, who appeared younger than me and was walking with a cane. When I watched more closely, she was taking her cane for a walk, using it maybe every other step, and was joined on her way out by her apparent boyfriend. I couldn’t help overhearing him ask her if she “got the prescription”. She said yes, and that she had to call the company to “get the scooter approved” (motorized wheelchair). As she was about 20 feet from the door, she put the cane under her arm, and walked out the door! And people wonder why healthcare is so expensive?

  1. pstarr999
    November 20, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Someone ought ot take the “scooter lady” out and belt her a good one!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

