Home > Health > Transplant Week 20

Transplant Week 20

September 22, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Yes, it’s been a full 20 weeks since transplant, and everything is going well.

I had appointments last week with the Transplant Surgeon and Nurse, and the Transplant Nephrologist.

Back during the summer, my Valcyte was reduced to 450 mg daily. It had been 450 mg every 12 hours, but my White Blood Cell count took a nose dive, I became neutropenic, and had to decrease it. I was on a higher dose, since my donor was CMV + and I was CMV -. Now that my WBC is up, they put me back on the original dose. My immunosuppression will be decreased at the 6 month mark (around the first week in November), so I will be taken off the Dapsone (prophylaxis for Pneumocystis) and the Valcyte.

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this previously, but I also had a hard area above my incision. The surgeons felt that it was a hematoma (collection of blood), and that it was nothing to worry about. It’s still there, but markedly smaller, so I would think their assessment was correct.

The Transplant Nephrologist reviewed everything, and had no issues. He was a little surprised that I needed Procrit (the other Neph started me on it, and this is the first I saw Dr. G since starting Procrit), as with Polycystic Kidney Disease, it’s very unusual for a transplantee to need it. However, he felt that the Thalassemia Minor that I have was why I needed a boost.

Other than that, I’m eating well (maybe a little TOO well), I’m back walking again at lunch time after a 1+ month break. I wear lower leg orthotics (due to the hereditary nerve atrophy in my extremities), had some skin breakdown on my ankle, had to wait 2 weeks for an appointment for an adjustment, broke them back in after not wearing them for a while, and now am finally back to walking. It feels good to once again exercise, as for the past few years of kidney failure, I didn’t have the energy to do it.

Work has been very busy lately. I really don’t mind; in fact, I’m glad, because the day goes much quicker. We had a suprise inspection last week by the “ISO” aka the Information Security Office. My employer takes information security very seriously for numerous reasons. Most importantly, they only allow those involved in a patient’s care to access that chart. I’ve heard of several instances where employees were fired for accessing the chart of a friend, relative, or other patient, when they had no reason to be in the chart. And unlike “paper” charts, there is ALWAYS a way to check who was in it, as we must sign on to the EHR (electronic health record) before we can access any chart. They also have numerous measures to prevent viruses on the network, with the latest being a ban on accessing internet email (Yahoo, Gmail, etc). Anway, many people were “written up” for leaving computers unsecured and other “violations”.

This past Sunday was an 8 Buggy Sunday. The unusual thing was that I saw them both before and after work. Usually I just see them before work on their way to church, and the middle of the shift when they are returning.  I actually saw a “minibuggy” (the Amish version of a “minivan”). It was an open buggy with 3 rows of seats, rather than the traditional 2 rows, and there were 2 adults and 5 children in it. Of course, none of them were in buggy seats (car seats).

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

