Home > Uncategorized > Post Number 100!!!!

Post Number 100!!!!

September 8, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Yes, I just realized 11 minutes after publishing this as “Hectic”, that it is my 100th WordPress post, so I changed the title. Other than that, no fireworks, no special graphics, nothing other than the title.

Not much to report health-wise, except that I’m glad that I got my AFO’s (orthotics that support my ankles and feet that allow me to walk without tripping) adjusted today, as I haven’t been going for walks for 2 weeks, and can feel a big difference).

Nothing new here, but I haven’t been sleeping well. I can fall asleep, but I wake up numerous times. I live with it, but I don’t want to start on a “sleeper” such as Ambien, because it may work initially, but then probably wears off. In other words, if I don’t take it, I’ll continue to have sleep problems, and if I do take it, I’ll probably continue to have sleep problems. I have an appointment with my regular doctor this week; maybe he has some suggestions.

Work continues to be very hectic, and shortages don’t help. I mentioned the last time that there is a nationwide shortage of Rabies vaccine. For 3 of the 4 workdays last week, I made and received numerous phone calls from a family with several children, who have a problem with bats getting into their house. I had to call the regional State Health Department office, and since the issue was clouded by the fact that they were previously immunized, and their situation presented several “gray areas“, the regional Health Department nurse ended up calling the state office in Harrisburg, and they called the CDC in Atlanta. When I left on Friday, I thought I had everything settled, but they ended up trying to straighten everything out through Sunday.

And of course, there’s another shortage: pharmacies are having a difficult time obtaining Fluoride. I have no idea why there is a shortage, but the pharmacy in our clinic has it on back order, and doesn’t know when it will be available. In the meantime, some parents are worried, and want to know what to do. Actually, it’s quite simple: if it’s unavailable, and you run out, then you don’t give it. There is no over the counter substitute. Put in perspective, if your kid goes without fluoride for a few weeks or months, it’s just not the same as a seizure patient being without meds for the same amount of time, or a cardiac patient being without Digoxin, or a diabetic going without insulin; you get the picture.
On the weekend, I also had a hectic time at work. Due to privacy considerations, I can’t go in to details, but suffice it to say that at one point I was probably 200/120, and left work quite angry at a family member who, shall I say, did not have the patient’s best interest in mind when a serious situation developed. It’s a chronic problem that had been in remission, but now has been occurring with more regularity, and the family member felt it to be an inconvenience that interrupted important income-producing activities. ‘Nuff said.

Clear the roads; our son Kevin got his learner’s permit last week. Actually, he’s doing a really good job with driving. I let him drive on Friday when we went to Wilkes-Barre. He quickly proved that he’s a chip off the old block, when he got behind a 100+ year old driver that was going very slow, and he passed her (legally). It’s only a matter of time before the expletives start spewing out…

Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac bailout. Bad idea, and some people are gonna get REALLY rich off this one. If these agencies messed up, then the market should decide their fate; the taxpayers should not be providing the money to add to the wealth of those who screwed up.

Barack Obama is now criticizing Sarah Palin for hiring a lobbyist to secure “pork” for Wasilla when she was mayor.  Barack should first take a look at what’s going on in Joe Biden’s hometown of Scranton.  Scranton is the county seat of Lackawanna County, and the Democrat Majority Commissioners of that county have hired a federal lobbying firm to secure money for the county. Sounds a lot like what Barack was criticizing Palin for….

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

