Home > Uncategorized > Amish Buggy Sunday

Amish Buggy Sunday

You may have seen me describe a Sunday at work as a (number) Buggy Sunday. Let me explain.

I have a job on the weekends with a nursing agency (different employer than my full time weekday job). It’s in a rural area of Pennsylvania that is an exit off of Interstate 80, and has numerous Amish and Mennonite farms.

On Saturdays, I rarely see any Amish, but on Sunday, that’s a different story.

The Amish, from what I’m told, hold church services in a different home each week. Invariably, I either pass a buggy (or several) on my way to work, or see them going past the house during the day (the house I work at is on a dirt road with farmland surrounding it).

Yes, it’s the 21st century, and there are still people using horses to pull wagons and buggys.

As for the types of buggies, there are 2 basic types; those with a cab, and those that are an open wagon. From what I’m told, the open wagon type are the “courting” buggies. And yes, the Amish DO go parking on dates, usually in a field. My friend lives in Amish country, and jokes that she’s seen these courting buggies rocking in the corn fields (jokes about it, but has actually seen it). She wonders how difficult it is for the male to get the females dress open, as they use straight pins rather than buttons (OUCH!).

To get back on the subject, I categorize each Sunday by the number of Amish buggies I see all day. Usually, it’s a 4 or 5 Buggy Sunday, but I’ve seen 12 to 14 Buggy Sunday’s before.

I originally had this as a page, but decided to convert it to a post. I will refer to this in future posts so that I don’t have to explain it each time.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:

Leave a Reply

