Home > Health > Transplant Week 14, Labs, Other Stuff

Transplant Week 14, Labs, Other Stuff

I’m almost 14 weeks since my transplant, and everything is going well.

I had labs this week, and my creatinine is boringly still normal (I’m NOT complaining). It’s up slightly, but that’s either just normal variation, or maybe from my Prograf being a little elevated.

Lab highlights: Prograf is 10.8, and they want it between 8-10 at this point; hemoglobin is coming up, and is now 10.2, a week after starting Procrit; and my iron studies are all normal. In addition, my CMV continues to be negative. They had decreased my Valcyte several weeks ago (the anti-viral med to prevent CMV), so it’s obviously working despite the lower dose. And, they decreased my Prograf by 1mg/day to 3mg in am and 3mg in PM.

I’ve been walking consistently. I did miss Wednesday because I had ankle pain. This was due to my orthotic splint rubbing, which was a result of new shoes. I’m wearing my old shoes for now, and gradually breaking the new ones in. I’m now to the point where I can keep a fairly good speed going up the large incline, and not getting as short of breath with it.
I renewed by CPR this week. We take the American Heart Association course, and I like this for 2 reasons. The “book part” we do online, which means we can do different sections at different times, and when we are done, we print off the certificate, make an appointment for the “hands on” portion, and finish up with that. The 2nd reason is that it’s good for 2 years, while American Red Cross is good for 1 year. I’ve taken CPR now since 1986, and pretty much can breeze right through at this point. I’ve done CPR on a handful of patients; fortunately, it’s all been in the hospital/clinic, so I always had an Ambu bag to ventilate, and never had to do true mouth-to-mouth (I’ve had friends that have done it this way, and usually the person on the receiving end vomits, so you have to clear the mouth out and resume artificial respirations; yuck!). The only problem I have is that they keep making these minor changes which end up being confusing. No more 5 compressions to 1 ventilation with 2 man Adult CPR; it’s now 30 and 2. And instead of compressing the chest of an infant 1/2″-1″, it’s now 1/3 the depth of the chest. It’s enough to make you crazy. When you are in the actual situation, and the adrenaline is pumping, you don’t COUNT; you just do it. Another recent change is that on an infant, you can use both thumbs to do compressions, with the rest of the hands encircling the chest. Newsflash: we did that back in the late 80’s/early 90’s when I worked in the hospital. I guess they figured out that it is a good way of doing it; that is, until they change it again in 2 years!

Try not to be too jealous, but gas at the supermarket around the corner from our house was $3.45 this morning on my way to work! As of now, oil is down to $115.38/barrel, down $4.64 from yesterday.

Not much planned for the weekend. I’m working Sunday, and on Monday, we’ll be going to the school board meeting.

Yesterday, I was in a fast-food drive-thru, and saw a rather odd police car: a Pennsylvania State Police Dodge Magnum (I found a pic on the internet, but can’t hotlink to it).

Whenever you feel as though there are insurmountable obstacles, or feeling that your life is tough, read this.

  1. pstarr999
    August 8, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    Don’t be jealous! $3.45 a gallon! How about coming down to the Philly metro area for some of our $3.90 a gallon gas! Hah!

  2. August 8, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    $3.90? Highway robbery! They did a news report on a station about 20 minutes away, and their prices were similar. The owner was still making a profit of $0.11/gallon. So Philly dealers are probably raking in $0.56 per gallon!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

