Home > Uncategorized > Random Stuff 7/29/08

Random Stuff 7/29/08

This past weekend, we had 2 restaurant experiences; 1 good and 1 bad.

The bad: Grotto Pizza at Harvey’s Lake. For those not in the area, Grotto Pizza, formerly “Joe’s Grotto” (when I was a kid) is very popular both here and in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware. I’ve been going getting pizza from there since the late 60’s. There are 3 in our area. The one is in Edwardsville, and we stopped going there after seeing less-than-hygienic conditions. We then started going to the one at the Wyoming Valley Mall, but after 4 straight visits with extremely poor service, we stopped going there. And Friday night, I watched the bus boy wipe a seat off and then use the same cloth to wipe off the table. I mentioned it to the manager, and she could care less, but said she would tell him about it. Well, about 15 minutes later, the same bus boy dropped a rag on the floor, picked it up, shook it out, and then wiped ANOTHER table off with it. I’m done there. Also, we each had a soda, Jackie had a salad, and we each had a personal pizza, and the bill was $27 plus the tip.

The good: Romano’s Macaroni Grill. On Saturday, we drove to Lancaster on a whim, and went to Romano’s Macaroni Grill. It was very clean, the service and the food was fantastic, and the bill for 2 DINNERS was only $4 more than for 2 PIZZAs the night before.

As I mentioned last week, Jackie had a meeting with the superintendent about her not getting the job (he called the meeting, not her). Well, yesterday, she got a message on her voice mail from the superintendent that he would like to talk to her about their meeting last week. She called him back, but he was on the phone, and is supposed to call her back. Perhaps we have someone here who is a little worried about something?

And speaking of her former job, Jackie was visited at work last week by a police officer serving her a subpoena. She had a student who punched a hole in the wall and caused some other damage, so she was subpoenaed to appear in court. She went today, and after 3 hours, got to leave without testifying: the student plead guilty. The school district will pay her for attending, since she had to take a day off without pay from her summer job, and will also give her mileage reimbursement, since the hearing is 25 miles way to Wilkes-Barre.

We saw a very depressing, while at the same time inspiration movie over the weekend: “The Pursuit Of Happyness”. It stars Will Smith and his son; I HIGHLY recommend it, and it’s based on a true story.

I’m getting even MORE lab work done, but this is for the Procrit. Total Iron Binding Capacity, CBC (which I always get whenever I get labs), Peripheral Smear, and Ferritin. I’ll get these done next week with my next routine labs. I did get my Procrit delivered today, and had it given to me by a co-worker (it’s a shot).

I’m going through my music collection (CDs), and ripping them to my hard drive. That way, I won’t have to go to the basement to retrieve a CD in order to listen, and I’ll be able to add it to my Ipod if I want. So far, I found some “interesting” albums, such as “If I Were A Carpenter” (I grew up listening to my mother playing her Carpenters 8 Track tapes), Tower of Power’s “Back to Oakland” (funk album that I listened to when I was in high school; T of P has an awesome horn section, and I love “Squib Cakes” with it’s Hammond B3 organ and Leslie Speaker), The Badlees “River Songs” (my first roommate was their manager, and another guy in the band was one of my roommates while student teaching), Phil Woods “I Remember” (awesome Jazz album by an awesome saxophonist),  Brahms Sym. 2 and Haydn Variations, and a bunch of other obscure albums. I also have an extensive classical collection from when I was in college, as well as some Alternative albums that I listen to. Basically, I listen to just about anything.

I continue to walk every day on my lunch break. I have a new route, which takes me up a fairly large incline. I feel much better, but have to watch my legs. I had some skin breakdown from my orthotics. Today,  I put lotion on the areas, and it was much better.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. pstarr999
    July 30, 2008 at 7:58 am

    WOW, Tower of Power!! I haven’t listened to them in a long time!
    Sounds like maybe the school district is afraid of a lawsuit?

  2. August 2, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    T of P; it was good to hear that album again.

    School; not sure, but we’re going to the next meeting.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

