Home > Uncategorized > Random Stuff

Random Stuff

We had a fairly busy weekend. Friday, we took Kevin up to my in-laws to stay over, and on Saturday, they drove to Philth-adelphia to stay overnight, and left early Sunday for Florida for a week’s vacation. They are going to Clearwater, as they’ve done for the past several years.

The weather this weekend was triple H; hazy, hot, and humid. I actually am more tolerant of the heat. I used to be very intolerant, but most of that was the excess weight, and I am especially more tolerant since the kidney failure. Walk through a dialysis unit, and most patients getting dialyzed will have a blanket on. I don’t know why, but kidney failure will cause you to feel cold. And it’s even worse when they turn down the temperature on the dialysis machine. Most nurses kept it above 96 (F), but one nurse I occasionally had would set it at 95.5, which kept your pressure from bottoming out (low temperatures constrict blood vessels, which will help maintain BP). But I digress…

On Sunday, we went to the Back Mountain area of the Wyoming Valley. My mother’s family had their reunion (the Baird Family). It’s always nice to see aunts, uncles, and cousins that you don’t get to see throughout the year, even if for an afternoon. The oldest relative there was my Uncle Ron. He was married to my grandfather’s sister Helen. For those interested in history, he told me an interesting story about himself several years ago. He was born in Wimbledon, England, and when he was 18 months old, his father moved the family to America. His father tried to book passage on a ship, but it was full, so he bought passage on the S.S. Philadelphia. It was actually good that it happened that way, because the first ship which didn’t have any tickets remaining was the Titanic.

Work didn’t start out so well yesterday. I took off a voice mail requesting a prescription renewal, and had to call the mother with a question. When I asked it, she told me that he had died the night before! He had chronic problems, and was 13 years old, but I didn’t expect to be told that. I felt terrible, but in retrospect, there was nothing I could have done differently.

Last night, we went to our favorite restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. I had my usual Crabmeat Casserole and Jackie had the House Tenderloin. I overdid it, though, as I had dessert. Fortunately, I had a plastic bag in the car, and within 30 minutes, my dessert was in the plastic bag. Since having my gastric bypass, I’ve gotten very adept at vomiting while driving, although last night I did pull over.

Talk about a cool product (for geeks who take computers apart just because it’s fun). It’s an adapter that plugs into your USB port, allowing you to hook up a hard drive from a laptop or desktop (IDE or SATA). I’m definitely buying this. UPDATE 7/26/08: After I got this out of the box, it went from a cool product to A PIECE OF GARBAGE! It’s a great concept, but it is cheaply made, and was dead on arrival. This is the FIRST time I had to send something back to Newegg (not their fault).

Jackie found out on Friday (via an article in the paper) that the Alternative Education teaching position that she applied for (and has worked in for the past 3 years) was given to someone else. There were some people that got a call telling them that they didn’t get the job, but she wasn’t one of them. The superintendant had left a message for her 10 days ago to schedule a meeting with him for yesterday to “discuss changes in the district”. I won’t go into details, but the meeting was everything she expected. One thing that he told her was that she can apply for unemployment, but the school district “preferred not to have to pay it” (yes, he really did say that). Fortunately, that won’t be necessary, as she already has a job for September, with benefits, comparable pay, and a much better work environment.

Which is cheaper; a horse and buggy, or a car? The answer may surprise you.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. pstarr999
    July 22, 2008 at 10:24 am

    What’s Jackie’s job for September?

  2. kandylini
    July 22, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    I’m not surprised the Superintendent said that about unemployment. What nerve! I’m glad to hear that Jackie has a new job already.

  3. July 22, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Paul: I’ll talk to you tonight.

    Kandi: I’m not surprised either, and yes, he is/was VERY nervy. She actually works in a summer job for the same company she will be working for this fall, and is very happy there. She will also have a MUCH better chance for advancement than were she was.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

