Home > food, Health > Restaurant Hygiene

Restaurant Hygiene

Despite the fact that I’m only 2-1/2 months out from my kidney transplant, I still occasionally eat at restaurants. I’ve always been cognizant of how clean a restaurant is, since I worked in McDonalds while in high school. One of my pet peeves is when a person cleaning a table uses the same rag on the seats as they do on the table (a big no-no at Mickey D’s). However, since my transplant and resulting immunosuppression, I’m even more fanatical about it now.

This past weekend, the 3 of us went to lunch with my wife’s mother and sister. They seated us at a table that obviously was dirty. The hostess noticed it, and put down the napkin-wrapped untensils on the dirty table and told us she would be back to clean it. When she cleaned it, she put the utensils back down ON THE WET TABLE ! (capillary action can wick germs into the napkin and onto the utensils)  I let it get that far to see what she would do, and  when she hadn’t replaced them, I told her of my immune status and asked for clean utensils. Needless to say, I didn’t get a pleasant response. She wasn’t nasty, but I could tell that she was pissed.

2 weeks ago, we went away for the weekend, and when we were waiting for a table at a restaurant, the host picked a cloth up off the floor and WIPED OUR TABLE OFF WITH IT! I mentioned it to the waitress, and of course, got another pissed-off look.

Am I being unreasonable? Even if I DIDN’T have a suppressed immune system, I would still expect that our utensils and napkins not be placed on a dirty table, nor should a rag that was on the floor be used to clean our table off.

  1. meowmie
    July 15, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    Oh my goodness. That is simply appalling hygiene. I’m one of those people who will ask waitstaff for clean items or if I’m suspicious of a chronic lack of hygiene, I will simply leave. Gastroenteritis or food poisoning are both serious matters.

  2. July 15, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    I don’t hesitate to speak up. Especially now, since my immune system is suppressed from the medications, and food poisoning could be fatal to me.

  3. kandylini
    July 15, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    You are not being unreasonable at all. How gross.

  4. July 18, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    Jeff, did you see the link on my main blog about germs? (Ewwww….I’m about to ruin your day.) The water with lemon got me as that’s about all I drink in a restaurant. My daughters worked at McD’s when in high school and they won’t hardly eat at one now. I think “ignorance is bliss” is probably true in most fast food places, and a lot of others. Hang in there!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

