Home > Health > Back To Work

Back To Work

Saturday was the 8 week mark for my kidney transplant, and today, I returned to work for the first time since May 2 (a full month earlier than originally planned). 

I had been getting up by 7am during the week, so the 6am work wake up time wasn’t much of a change. Everyone was glad to see me back (especially the doctors and the nurses in the other department that were covering for me while I was out), and many still can’t believe how much better I look.

The work day was fairly steady, but not terrible. My job in the clinic is to field advice calls from parents, take care of prescription requests, orders, referrals, and anything else that comes along, so that the doctors spend their time seeing patients. When I was gone, they sort of “winged it”,  which is why they were glad I was back.

Their was an interesting call from a parent. She told me that her daughter had a “panic attack”, and had threatened suicide. I talked to the daughter, and she told me that she just threatened suicide to anger her mother, and had no intention of doing so (I believe her, because I first asked her how she was going to commit suicide, and she told me that it was just to get mom mad; not that this proves she wasn’t suicidal, but it does make it less likely). So, the mother called the police, and they hauled her off to the Emergency Department to another hospital in the back of the squad car. The physician there apparently asked her to sign herself in to an in-patient psychiatric unit, and she refused, so he evidently told her that if she didn’t, he would seek in-voluntary commitment. When she found out she might be visiting the Hotel California (“You can checkout any time you like, But you can never leave”), her mom called me to try to get her a Psych evaluation at our facility. It turned out that they discharged her and she did get an emergency psych eval today, but I don’t know what happened after that.

This should be a lesson to all teen-agers (and adults). Unless you mean it, NEVER use the “I’m going to kill myself” ruse to manipulate someone. It could very easily backfire, and you’ll end up with a not-so-nice 72 hour stay in a locked Psych ward. I worked in Psych for over 3 years, and saw it happen numerous times. Once you are there, you have to give advance notice of intention to leave, so by signing yourself in, it will still be several days before you can leave, should you change your mind. If you are involuntarily committed, then you CAN’T sign yourself out.

I also found out that I’m getting a raise. It’s been since January 2007 since I had one; I’ll know by Wednesday what it will be. I’m sure it won’t cover the increased gas costs, but I’m certainly not the only one in that boat. I figured out my gas mileage the other day, and it’s going to cost me $8/day just in gas to get to and from work. Since it’s a rural area, public transportation isn’t an option (a taxi is $80 each way). I support Drill here, Drill Now, Pay Less

I realize that the talking points of those with the opposite view try to negate this, but if we were to allow more domestic drilling AND ease up on the regulations for the licensing of refineries, the cost of oil would start lowering even before the oil was available; knowing that more oil would be available would be a disincentive for commodities traders to buy oil futures.

The other argument is that “it will take 10 years before that oil would become available”. My take on that?  When I was going through the process of getting placed on the list for a kidney transplant, I was told it would take several years before I got one. If you use the same logic, I shouldn’t have gone through all of that. Of course, I would still be on dialysis if I hadn’t… Sometimes, I just don’t understand how so many people believe these illogical arguments.

  1. pstarr999
    June 30, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Drill, drill, drill!! Hooray for fossil fuel!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

