Home > Health > Transplant Day 53

Transplant Day 53

Today, I had my routine post-transplant follow up appointment with the Transplant Coordinator and Transplant Surgeon as well as labs. They were both thrilled with my progress. In fact, I don’t have to go back for another month, and labs in 2 weeks (it had been doctor appt every 2 weeks and labs every week).  And, I’m going back to work on Monday (yeah!).   

My creatinine is 1.2, and Dr. Varma said it will probably stay there. My Prograf (FK-506) level isn’t back  yet, and my blood counts are stable. My hemoglobin is still low (9.2), but that’s apparently not a concern.

I stopped off at work to give them my return to work note, and everyone kept saying that the difference in how I look now as compared to before the transplant is amazing. I can’t see it that much, but I sure can feel the difference.

Also, I no longer have to keep accurate numbers on my input and output; I’ll go by the color/concentration of my urine to determine how well hydrated I am.

I’m going to stay on my Magnesium at bedtime, as I notice a bit of an improvement in my Neuropathy. I’ve been able to cut back on the number of nights I’ve had to take Tylenol #3 due to the numbness, tingling, burning, and restlessness in my hands and arms.

It’s not often that I win anything, but I posted an anecdote on WhiteCoat Rants‘ blog, and won me a high-quality Pediatric stethoscope, courtesy of Boardman Medical Supply!

Kevin and I made our annual father/son  pilgrimage to Maryland on Monday to get fireworks. Although it’s not yet specifically been identified, he inherited my fireworks gene.  The prices from last year were to have risen noticeably, but I think that since we got there earlier this year (last week it was 3 days before July 4), we hit a lot of good deals.

  1. June 25, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    “…everyone kept saying that the difference in how I look now as compared to before the transplant is amazing.”

    I keep getting that, even after a year. I don’t notice anything big, either, other than I think I look ‘fatter’ than I did before (’cause I seriously gained 10 pounds).

    K2

  2. June 25, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    Congrats on going back to work. I’m so happy that you are doing so well. Any advice for the mully-grubs?

  3. Linc
    June 26, 2008 at 7:41 am

    An open letter about research misconduct on polycystic kidney diseases (PKD) was published on Nature comments online. Please see the following link:
    http://www.nature.com/news/2008/080618/full/453969d.html

    Help needed to fight research misconduct

    I worked in one of the most prestigious institutes in Boston and the world. In the work, I could not be able to recapitulate and develop a major story in the polycystic kidney disease field. Later I found out that some of the important data that were published and used by the laboratory to apply for NIH grants were falsified and fabricated. Astoundingly, my findings also indicated that several top laboratories in the field were probably involving in fabrication and/or falsification of scientific data. I presented the evidences and made complaints to the principle investigator of the laboratory and later the officials in the institute. However, I was retaliated against for my whistle blowing and was asked to leave my position. I have made research misconduct allegation and retaliation allegation in Office of Research Integrity in US Department of Health and Human Services. Unfortunately, ORI only asked the institute set up self-investigation panels for both issues. After my complaining, the institute egregiously engaged in the retaliation and threatening, attempting to intimidate me. After an extremely unfair investigation, the institute terminated my position before the investigation to research misconduct actually started, releasing a clear signal to the people of research misconduct that the institute is helping them cover up their wrongdoings. If the research misconduct is covered up, millions dollars of taxpayers’ money could be in danger of being wasted, the public health could be in danger of unprotected, and the truth might be buried by the lies. Therefore, I am seeking for urgent assistance from anyone who will be able to give me a hand on this matter. Your kind assistance and/or information will be highly appreciated by all honest and hard-working scientists. If you are interested in knowing the specific story, please contact me at lincbacon@yahoo.com.

    June 25, 2008 9:16 PM

  4. kandylini
    June 28, 2008 at 12:20 am

    Wow, going back to work already? You must be excited.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

