Home > Health > Transplant Day 48, Labs

Transplant Day 48, Labs

I’m doing well this week. It’s killing me that it’s so nice outside, yet I can’t do any yard work (due to mold spores in the soil).  Yesterday, though, I did trim some branches from the tree in our front yard with Kevin’s help.

I got my labs back late yesterday, but I didn’t post until I heard back from the nurse today regarding my Prograf (FK-506) level.  My labs continue to be stable. My Prograf is up to 7.1 (from 5.1 last week; I increased my dose by 1 mg daily). I thought they wanted it up to 8-10, but they are OK with the 7.1. My creatinine is still down to 1.2 (awesome!), my glucose was low at 63, but I hadn’t eaten prior to my labs, and my calcium is up to 9 (I’m now taking Citrical). Speaking of which, my GI/Bariatric doc advises Calcium Citrate over Calcium Carbonate, as it’s more easily absorbed. WonderLabs has decent pricing on Calcium Citrate in various doses and combinations with other vitamins/minerals.

As for my blood count, it’s stable. My white count is still predictably low, my hemoglobin and hematocrit are the same. I’m amazed that with a hemoglobin of 9.5 that I’m not tired. That says a lot for how tired I was from the kidney failure.

When I messaged the nurse yesterday to get my labs, I also asked about my PPD. That’s a shot they do to screen for Tuberculosis. I get one yearly for both my full-time and weekend nursing jobs. The weekend employer is particularly adamant about having this done on time (and rightfully so). Anyway, I wanted to know if I could get a PPD, or if they could use the x-ray done after my IV line was placed in my neck prior to surgery.

The response from the nurse?  “I will check with the docs and get back to you. We do not have many patients as anal as you! ”   I’ll take that as a compliment!

I’ve had several interesting search engine queries that lead to my blog; looks like it’s soon time for another Searches That Pointed To My Blog  post.

For those that want to email me, here is my address (it’s a graphic rather than text so that I can avoid bots snagging my address):

  1. kandylini
    June 22, 2008 at 11:34 pm

    What do you think of the QuantiFERON(R)-TB Gold test? Isn’t it supposed to be the best one? I wonder if it’s expensive.

  2. June 23, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Interesting; I had never heard of that test, so I had to look it up.

    I checked their website, and it’s a blood test. It seems that it’s ideally used for those who have had BCG (vaccine against TB) and maybe to determine treatment effectivess in TB+ patients?

    Realistically, I would think that the PPD is still way more cost effective, and this test probably wouldn’t take over for it. Many people who work in professions that deal with people have to get TB screening, especially those in healthcare. I can’t imagine that a $2 PPD would be replaced by a blood test that costs multiple times more.

    Another potential market would be those not wanting vaccines. The risk with this test vs the PPD is much different; with the PPD, there is a small risk of Guillian Barre Syndrome (sp?)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

