Home > Health > Transplant Day 44, UK Newsletter, Fired Transplantee

Transplant Day 44, UK Newsletter, Fired Transplantee

Everything is going well. I’m managing to take in more fluids, I’m eating well (but not TOO much), and my urine output is great.

I received an email today with a link to a newsletter from the UK. The PKD Charity in the United Kingdom puts out a newsletter, and did a story about me when I was on dialysis. They actually took excerpts from my LiveJournal blog, and posted them in the newsletter.  The newsletter is well done, and addresses important issues such as pain control (a “hot topic” with PKD), PKD and pregnancy, a theory regarding water and PKD (Polycystic Kidney Disease),  and other articles.

I read some sad and infuriating news about a blogger named Matt, who had a kidney transplant several years ago, has been off of work (FMLA leave) due to some major edema and rashes, and found out that he was fired from his job.  Not only did no one tell him he was fired, but they also cancelled his health insurance, which is how he found out about the firing. He seems to be taking it a lot better than I would, but the commenters on his post were of the same mindset as me; what his employer did sucked.

I’ve always said that I am very fortunate at my job. My supervisors and co-workers have bent over backwards for me through all of this, and I very much appreciate that.

  1. kandylini
    June 17, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    I wish I could say I’m shocked about what happened to Matt. Isn’t the way he was fired illegal? It’s times like these when I’m thankful for what little workplace protection/benefits there are in most jobs.

  2. June 17, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    There are to an extent. For example, I’ve had FMLA since I was put on the transplant list. Prior to last August, I never came close to using my 12 weeks up. But I started missing 8 hours/week, which up until last month was no problem. However, having missed 5 weeks total of work this year, I could have run into problems after transplant, as I was initially to be off for 12 weeks.

    I’m lucky in that my supervisor had the option to either “let me go” after 12 weeks, or let me stay. Fortunately, she decided on the latter.

    I would say that he probably has a legitimate complaint, but I’m not a lawyer.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

