Home > Uncategorized > Transplant Day 41

Transplant Day 41

I changed my meds around a little bit. Being that the calcium, multivitamin, and magnesium have the potential to block absorption of some meds, I take them at noon and at bedtime. My other meds are at 8a and 8p. Before, I was taking 2 Citracal tabs (calcium) at lunch, but now, I take 1 at lunch and the other at bed. I moved my Prilosec to 8p, but still take my aspirin at bedtime. That’s about the most exciting thing that’s happened recently )

It’sdefinitely getting to be “back to work time”. When I had my emergency brain surgery for a subdural hematoma back in September 2005, the Neurosurgeon wanted me to be out of work for 6 weeks, but I was able to convince his PA that I was OK after 4 weeks, so I returned then (and I WAS ready and able at that point). The reason I now say I’m ready is because I am starting to go “stir crazy”, and my days are not as structured as they were even a week ago (in other words, I’m getting lazy). Going back to work will at least give me some structure (I’m not TOO obsessive compulsive, am I?).

I’ve managed to get in more fluids today; it’s hot here, and getting more humid, but not as bad as earlier in the week.

I’m trying to be more aware of everyday sources for potential infection. The one thing I’ve been doing is to put the sponge in the microwave for 2 minutes each day after I wash out my breakfast dishes. Sponges are a wealth of bacteria (and probably other organisms), and I ‘ve read that this helps. I also have been very conscientious about washing my hands more often/using hand sanitizer.

Jackie got a little freaked out today regarding infection. She is working at a summer “camp” (although it’s more of a summer school program) for kids with autism and behavioral problems. She found out today that one of the children has TB and Hepatitis B. I told her not to worry; the State Health Department of Health would not allow someone with active TB to be in a public setting, and she has at least partial protection with the Hep B vaccine for that disease. She just has to be sure not to touch any blood (which is how Heb B is transmitted).

I’ve been driving now for the past few days, and it’s done a lot to help me out mentally; I don’t have the “post op” frame of mind anymore; just another step to getting things back to normal.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

