Home > Health > Labs from June 11

Labs from June 11

I got a call on my Prograf/FK-506 level, and it’s too low; 5.1 (the goal at this point is a level between 8-10).  That sure would explain the drop in creatinine from 1.4 to the current 1.2 (I was told that my creatinine will probably drop some when they ease up on my immunosuppressants over the next few months).

Interestingly, the Transplant Nurse was talking about how some patients cheat on their immunosuppressant meds. They don’t take them for a while, and then take them 2 days before their labs, and everything looks good, until they end up rejecting. When he called me with my labs, I assured him that I am FANATICAL about taking my meds. They do have a way to detect the cheaters, though. They periodically check an “immune function”; if it’s abnormal (too high?), they know the person is non-compliant.

In my opinion, being non-compliant is in a way unfair to others. If a non-compliant person gets a kidney, and loses it, then someone who would have taken better care of it loses out. I firmly believe that recipients have a DUTY to take care of their transplant as well as they can.

As for the other 2 labs; the CMV level and BK Virus screening, I probably won’t know anything about them until next week.

  1. Bel
    June 12, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    I am learning a lot from your blog. I got a fistula in Feb 08 and Have yet to go on dialysis. I await a transplant from my husband. I’ve lived with lupus nephritis for 20 yrs. I’m 46 stage 5 ckd since Dec 07. Please keep up your blog, it helps me understand the responsibilities and gives me hope.

  2. June 12, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    I’m glad you are learning from my blog. Feel free to post any questions. You might also want to check out my previous blog, which is from when I was pre-dialysis to dialysis: http://jsher.livejournal.com/. I just switched over to WordPress, but have maintained my LiveJournal for now, until I can get it all transferred to here.

    That’s good that you got a fistula prior to needing it. I had mine for 2 years before it was used for dialysis. Hopefully you won’t need to do dialysis, and your transplant will happen soon. I was at Stage 5 for at least a year before needing dialysis, so it is possible to hold off for a while (although everyone is different).

    Good luck.

  3. kandylini
    June 12, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    “In my opinion, being non-compliant is in a way unfair to others.”

    That’s true. I wonder if some people don’t take them because of the side effects? They may not be as positive as you either! I hope they read your blog and get some good tips.

  4. June 12, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    “I wonder if some people don’t take them because of the side effects?”

    Probably true in some cases, but the nurse said that it occurs mostly in young males; I guess they think they are invincible, and don’t need to take them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

