Home > Health > Transplant Day 34

Transplant Day 34

I just got back from my appointments at Geisinger. I’m now tanked up with Venofer (Iron), and feel like I’m peeing needles after having a cystoscopy to remove my stent. When I had my transplant, they put a green rubber stent between the bladder and kidney, and today it was removed.  It was uncomfortable, but not terrible, but since it’s a potential source of infection, I’m glad to get it out. The Venofer was given via my fistula, so I only had 1 needle stick.

I definitely have to work on increasing my fluid intake this weekend, as it’s already triple H around here (hazy, hot, and humid). 

My weight is down, and my BP is down as well. It’s hitting the 50’s on the bottom, so I’ll have to watch that closely.

 

  1. kandylini
    June 7, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Sounds like a good time to have iced tea. Hope you’re feeling better today.

  2. Mary Pat
    June 9, 2008 at 11:04 am

    Hi Jeff

    For the cystoscopy, where you sedated?

    MP

  3. June 9, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    No sedation at all for the cystoscopy. However, it was quick. The pain was tolerable and brief.

  4. barb
    August 10, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Hi Jeff,
    was given your name from someone on the pkd chat group. I am curious about your iron infusions. Did they start when you got your transplant or before.. if so how much before

  5. August 11, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    Hi Barb,
    Thanks for taking a look at my blog.

    I actually had Venofer (IV Iron) probably a good year before even starting dialysis, and I was on dialysis for 9 months prior to transplant. It’s not at all unusual to need iron when in renal failure. Before dialysis, the infusions were 300 mg for 3 doses (I think they were a week or 2 apart). IIRC, I started them when I went on Procrit. The Procrit doesn’t work without adequate iron stores, so it is necessary.

    When I was on dialysis, I got it usually every month, but in smaller doses.

    The only unusual occurence was that whenever it was injected, I had a distinct brief “taste” of maple syrup. The dialysis nurses thought I was nuts, until they had someone else say the same thing.

    Are you going to start iron infusions?

    Jeff

  6. barb
    August 12, 2009 at 7:29 am

    I had 4 iron infusions 4 weeks in a row, once a week. my dr said that he thought that would last me for the year. my blood count thou so far has only gone up .6. I was told that my body isnt capable of storing iron. my creatinine level has been as low as 1.27 and as high as 1.8 after overdose, by drs prescription of antibiotics for uti. I am not a big person, 5’5 and 128 lbs so I dont know how high will be too high for me. I am still just as tired of not more tired than before the iron. I am not on procrit yet, i think my blood count is still to high for it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

