Home > Health > Transplant Day 14

Transplant Day 14

Today is my 2 week transplant anniversary. Yea! It’s hard to believe it’s been 2 weeks. In one respect, 2 weeks seems like it was long ago, and in another respect, it seems just a short while ago.

My “vitals” are stable. Wt up a 1/2 lb to 218.5, although overall, it’s stable. BP 138/78 (so far, the Magnesium hasn’t helped with that), no fever, and my ins yesterday was 3590 cc and outs 3800. My bladder is finally stretching; 2 days in a row where I had 600 cc out at one time! (previous high was 500 cc). May not seem like a big deal, but the more that comes out at 1 time = more room = less trips to the bathroom!

I got my labs back yesterday afternoon, and everything is stable (posted below). Creatinine and BUN stable, and Prograf at upper end of desired range, so no change in dose. Potassium remains at upper end of normal, yet I’m not overdoing it on high potassium foods. Maybe there’s a diuretic in my future.

I’m doing well GI wise. No more constipation; we’ll leave it at that 🙂 Occasional nausea, but that may very well be from my gastric bypass; hard to say. I did throw up a tiny bit about 20 minutes after taking my meds, but I took some on an empty stomach, so that’s probably why. I’m figuring that I got most of them in, so I won’t repeat them.

The one thing that sticks out (figuratively speaking) since transplant? NO MORE ITCHING! I used to have itching constantly; increased phosphorous is notorious for doing this. But now, my Phosphorous is below normal, and the itching is gone.

My right arm is still bothersome. I’ve found that a heating pad works well, but I’ve also had to take Tylenol #3 at times to help with the pain. It’s a different kind of pain than I have with kidney cyst ruptures; more like an intense ache. It’s not related to exertion; if fact, it’s worse when I’m sleeping and wake up. Don’t misunderstand; I’m not whining about it, just reporting it. I’m able to “suck it up”; in relation to everything else, this is minor.

LABS

Lab

Reference Range

Value

Flag

BUN

6-20

27

H

Creatinine

0.7-1.5

1.6

H

Potassium

3.5-5.1

5.0

 

GFR

>60

50.2

L

WBC

4.0-10.8

4.52

 

Hgb

14.0-16.5

10.5

L

Hct

40-47

32.4

L

FK-506 (Prograf

 8-10

10.3

 H

 

 

  1. kandylini
    May 17, 2008 at 11:56 am

    I wonder if your BP is just high from all the stress. My BP tends to be on the low end (like 100/70), but when I accidentally got hit in the eye with a metal toy, it went up really high for a while.

  2. May 17, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    It’s possible (especially since the kidney has a role in regulating blood pressure), but I also have left over fluid in my tissues that I haven’t lost yet, and at least one of my post-transplant meds can cause high BP.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

