Home > Uncategorized > Transplant Day 12

Transplant Day 12

Still doing well. The incisional pain is less each day, although my lower left abdomen (where they placed the kidney) is protruding out a bit.

Weight today is up a half pound. BP 138/80, and yesterday, I had 2740 cc in, and 3375 out. Maybe my weight isn’t coming down because of inactivity and eating better? I decided I will start walking short distances. Today is a good day to start, as I will be walking over to the nearby clinic for blood work. It’s a little longer distance than I would like, but it shouldn’t be a problem.

I definitely still have a lot of fluid “on board”. I just put my leg splints on for the first time since before the surgery, and they are very snug. Prior to surgery, there was actually a lot of room in the calf portion of each; today, I had a hard time fitting my leg in them, especially the left splint. That will get better over time, so I’m not worried. it’s actually reassuring, because it confirms that my weight gain is mostly fluid.

My right arm continues to be bothersome. I was up several times during the night with significant pain in my middle arm, and now have shoulder pain as well. I’ll talk to the doctor on Monday about it, but I don’t think there’s much he can do about it.

Since my Magnesium level was low, the surgeon started me on Magnesium Oxide 400 mg, 2 tabs twice/day. They sent the rx to the pharmacy, but I got a call from the pharmacy today that it is over the counter, and they don’t fill OTC meds (it’s a mail order pharmacy). I’m pretty sure that the doc said that Prograf depletes magnesium. I went out and bought a bottle tonight at Wal Mart (Mag Ox), and it was $15 for 120 tabs. When I got home, I ordered 750 tabs, and with the shipping, it came to $16 and change. If anyone needs to be put on this, check out Wonder Labs. They also have a huge selection of vitamins, minerals, and herbs. Maybe once I’m on this for several days, I’ll start to see my blood pressure go down.

I’ll post my Prograf level tomorrow.

Crossposted at WordPress.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

