Home > Dogs, Health > Transplant Day 10, Prograf

Transplant Day 10, Prograf

The Transplant Nurse called yesterday with my Prograf level: 6.6. It was 3 when I was discharged last Thursday, so it came up nicely. Dr. Maloo does want it in the 8-10 range for the first 3 months, so I will change my dose to 4mg in am and 3mg in pm (had been 3 and 3). So far, no side effects.

I also called and cancelled my appointment for my fistula stenting for tomorrow. Prior to yesterday’s visit, I was adamant that I would not let the doctors “tie it off”, but after talking to Dr. Maloo, and having the explanation of it being a “high flow fistula”, and potentially causing heart problems down the road, I’m a lot more open to having it tied off in the future. I’m sure my right arm is out for a fistula if I need one in the distant future, but there’s always my legs (my mom had grafts in both legs when she was on dialysis).

One of the nurses in clinic yesterday was telling me of an 80 year old man that had a kidney transplant that lasted 27 years, and for a good number of years, had not taken ANY immunosuppressants! Of course, he’s on dialysis now. If I could get 27 years out of this one, I’ll be thrilled. I’d be in my early 70’s at that point.

My bp is creeping upwards. Last Friday, it was 132/64; today it is 138/78. Something to watch, but not really worry about. I will probably have to start on BP meds again, but what’s one more pill? Besides, if they put me on an ACE Inhibitor, they protect the kidneys, so that won’t be all that bad (e.g. Lisinopril). Up until about 3 months ago, I had been on BP meds for almost 20 years.

Yesterday, for the first time, my output (2900 cc) exceeded my input (2740 cc).

I think I might have had some damage to my shoulder in the OR. Every morning when I wake up, my right shoulder has a significant ache. This is the arm that I had the arterial line in my armpit; did they have my right arm extended out for too long? Rotator cuff injury? I’m not planning on making a big issue of it, but hopefully it will resolve.

Yesterday morning (actually, in the middle of the night), I stumbled into the bathroom, and as I was standing in front of the toilet, I heard a noise, and then saw the shower curtain move. Digger, our GoldenDoodle, was sleeping in the bathtub again, stepped out of the tub, and went into his crate to finish off the night!

 

  1. pstarr999
    May 13, 2008 at 11:28 am

    I like your new theme. Is this one with variable width columns?

  2. May 13, 2008 at 11:35 am

    I think it is, although I haven’t gotten that far in customizing.

    Here is the description:

    Andreas04 by Andreas Viklund
    A three-column silver and blue theme with two sidebars on the right.

    Tags: grey, three columns, flexible width

  3. May 13, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    Nice to see your blog, and thanks for stopping by mine. My situation now appears to be almost 99% certain that it is a bad reaction to Rapamune. (I started on the prograf stuff in 03 after my transplant but was switched to Rapamune after the hand shakes would not go away.) Anyway, my situation should get better in the next couple months since I’ve been off the Rapamune for about a month now. Anyhow, glad you are doing well. Just wait until you don’t have to go to Dr’s appointments so often. You’ll feel like a “regular” guy again. My donor was my sister (living) so I didn’t even have to do the dialysis thing. I was lucky. Good luck to you!

  4. May 13, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    When I had my last surgery (hoo-hoo-ectomy) I swear they did something to my left side. A lot of nerve pain, even to this day. It was worse in the beginning but now it’s just annoying. My right arm is messed up from a “high flow fistula” used for 4 years and now my left arm/shoulder/neck hurt, too.

    I figure it’s just one more thing to add to the list LOL

  5. May 13, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    My wife asked me why I didn’t have the pain in the hospital; it didn’t start until a few days ago. I figured that the high steroid doses the first day probably masked the symptoms.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

