Home > Health > Medical News

Medical News

Protecting the Heart in Muscular Dystrophy Patients wait until you see which med they studied….

Perfecting an Artificial Pancreas misleading title; this is about producing insulin (the pancreas has other functions as well). Nonetheless, this is potential big news on the diabetes front.

Tobacco as a Self-Medication and Wellness opinion piece on how people self-medicate with tobacco, yet are being financially punished for this.

Vitamin D Linked To Reduced Mortality Rate In Chronic Kidney Disease the docs tested all of us on dialysis a few months ago, and I started on Vitamin D (ergocalciferol, which is non-activated), in addition to Zemplar (the activated form). I think you’ll be seeing a lot more on Vitamin D, even in “healthy” patients.

Microsoft Envisions Smarter EMR Interfaces this is interesting to me, as my employer is 100% EMR based (electronic medical record)

  1. kandylini
    May 14, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    I try to keep up with vitamin D research via The Vitamin D Council (http://www.vitamindcouncil.org/). They recommend the cholecalciferol form for most people.

  2. May 14, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    Yes, I get their newsletter already.

    I started on Vitamin D in January, but it’s ergocalciferol. However, I was also on an activated form of Vitamin D as well while I was on dialysis; Zemplar.

    I was shopping for Magnesium Oxide (my magnesium level is low probably due to one of my transplant meds) and found a great source for vitamins, minerals, and herbs.

    They have cholecalciferol, 1000 IU, 100 tabs for $2.99 plus shipping. http://www.wonderlabs.com/itemleft.php?itemnum=6651

    I’m sure we’ll be seeing a lot more on the benefits of Vitamin D in the future.

  3. kandylini
    May 14, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Can you take magnesium oxide with no stomach problems? I can’t. I have to take the other forms, and only at night because it makes me sleepy. Thanks for the Wonder Labs link—they have good prices. I usually order from VitaCost.com, because they have a flat $4.99 shipping charge.

    I’m amazed how many people are deficient in vitamin D. I’m thinking about getting tested myself, although I’m almost scared to find out the results!

  4. May 15, 2008 at 6:24 am

    I only had 1 dose so far, but didn’t have any problems.

    Vitamin D levels are not something routinely ordered, but with the research being done, maybe they will be in the future.

    I think it’s especially important now, because of the push to use sunscreen. We boost our Vitamin D levels through sun exposure, and that is being cut back. It would be interesting for someone to study this.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

