Home > Health > Better each day

Better each day

Today is day 8 after my kidney transplant. Still peeing up a storm! I feel even better than yesterday, and the incisional pain is decreased.

I’ve decided that from now on, I will refer to it as MY kidney, not “the kidney I got from the donor”. No disrespect towards the donor and her family; it’s strictly to further allow for my immune system to accept it. There’s no scientific evidence to back this up, but I firmly believe that the mind has at least SOME power over our physical makeup, so it won’t hurt…

Interestingly, after I decided this, I read a brochure that was given to me in the hospital. It’s named “Understanding Rejection” and put out by Roche Pharmaceuticals (manufacturer of CellCept). “One transplant patient talks to the cells of his immune system each morning; “Hey guys n’ gals in there, this kidney is a new friend of ours. Go easy on it today and we’ll all be a lot happier”. Sounds nutty, but I think it’s a good idea.

My vitals are good; no fever, wt is down a pound (to 218), BP 132/72, and yesterday I had 3080 cc’s in and 2300 cc’s out. I will be asking about that at my appointment tomorrow; I don’t think it’s an issue (maybe there is some fluid staying in the GI tract?), but I’ll add that to my list of questions.

Other good news; Jackie has 2 interviews this week. Tomorrow she interviews for a summer job working with autistic kids (she has a lot of experience with this; when she worked in the Psych hospital for over 10 years, she would do one on ones with the autistic patients, as the other staff didn’t care to do it). She has an interview on Thursday for a contract Elementary teaching position in our local district; currently, she teaches there, but it’s a non-contract position without benefits.

 

  1. May 11, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    Congratulations! This is a BIG time for you, huh?
    The visualisation thing sure does sound odd doesn’t it? However it’s a very common practice and partly its about a positivity of attitude – which I can see you have by the bucket load!
    There is a steadily increasing amount of research which explains the links between the mind, the nervous system and the immune system – so I think it’s definitely worth doing.
    Good luck

    Dr Bob

  2. May 11, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Thanks.

    Yes, it is a very exciting time. I’ve been waiting almost 3 years now. And the difference within several hours of surgery was astounding. I didn’t realize how poorly I felt before and during dialysis until about 8 hours after my transplant.

  3. pstarr999
    May 12, 2008 at 10:30 am

    Talking to your own body makes a lot more sense than talking to plants, and there are a lot of people who do that, so whatever works. Mind over matter, right?!!

  4. whatsyrproblem
    May 14, 2008 at 10:24 am

    Well done, healthy happy life to you.

  5. May 14, 2008 at 11:10 am

    Thanks!

  1. May 19, 2008 at 8:21 pm

Leave a Reply

