Home > Uncategorized > First Night Home After Transplant

First Night Home After Transplant

 My first night home after my kidney transplant went well. We watched a movie, and I was in bed by 10pm. I started out in bed, but laying flat is uncomfortable with the incision, so after my first of 3 trips to the bathroom, I slept in the recliner. It’s times like these that I realize that my planning when we bought our house has paid off. We live in a ranch style home, and 1 floor is very convenient.

I have to keep track of my “ins and outs”, as well as my vital signs. Through the night, I put out over a liter of urine!

I’ve determined that my bladder, as this point, has a maximum capacity of 1/2 liter; when I pee 500 cc’s, I feel as though it will burst. The reason for the smaller capacity is most likely due to shrinkage. My urine output while on dialysis was minimal, and since my bladder wasn’t being used, it probably shrunk. It will probably take a few weeks before it once again becomes used to being utilized so much and so often.

My appetite in the hospital wasn’t the greatest, but is better this morning. I wasn’t up to fixing much, so I just had flavored cream cheese (protein source) and crackers, so that I didn’t take my meds on an empty stomach. Right now I’m having milk and a ZonePerfect protein bar.

I’m trying to cut back on Percocet, since I only have 30 of them. How ironic that there are people faking back pain and can get 240 for the month, but I had major abdominal surgery and can only get 30. I realize they have to be careful so as not to get the patient hooked on them, but I take them because I need them, not because I want a “buzz”. I took 2 at bedtime, and none so far yet today. I can tell when it’s time, because I break into a sweat, and my heart rate increases to about 108. It hurts more when I sit in a chair, so it looks as though I’ll spend a lot of the time reclined back in the recliner. 

Cross posted at WordPress.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

