Home > Uncategorized > Transplant Day 3

Transplant Day 3

 What a whirlwind 2 days. The new kidney is “peeing like a racehorse”, but according to the surgeons, is still “waking up. I’m putting out 30-120 cc of urine per hour, but my creatinine is 5.9. The reason is that it is a “pediatric” kidney, and they usually are hypersensitive (for lack of a better term) when first “installed”. Dr.M (transplant surgeon) said that I’m having some ATN, and that the blood vessels in the kidney are in vasospasm. But at this point, I’m putting out urine, and that’s what’s important. 

I’m off of my IV pain meds (Dilaudid), and have minimal pain. I was out of bed to eat lunch, and my legs are a bit shaky, but otherwise, no problems. I started solid food last night, and am eating well. I feel unbelievably fantastic, and can only now fully appreciate how cruddy I felt for so long.

I appreciate all of the replys, messages, phone calls, and visits. I’m inundated with email, so I apologize if I don’t respond. It’s awkward typing on the laptop, since I can’t keep it on my lap, and it’s on my bedside table at the level of my face. 

As it looks, I’ll probably be discharged on Wednesday.

Cross Posted at WordPress.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

