Home > Uncategorized > Dialysis Day 102, Upcoming Fistulaplasty

Dialysis Day 102, Upcoming Fistulaplasty

I continue to “self-cannulate” at dialysis. The lower (arterial) needle is a piece of cake, but the upper (venous) needle is more challenging. As the one nurse said, since I’m doing it one handed, I can’t put traction on the skin, and my skin is thicker in the upper end of my fistula.

I go for another angioplasty/fistulaplasty on Wednesday. I can’t assess my fistula too well by touch, because I don’t have much sensation in my finger due to my CMT. Visually, the aneurysms don’t appear to have gotten that much larger. I’m just hoping that the radiologist is a little more liberal with pain meds the next time; the one I had the last 2 times did a good job with the procedure, but instead of being PROACTIVE with my pain, he was REACTIVE.

Beginning wt: 96.5 kg. End wt: 93.1 kg.

The dialysis unit I go to at Geisinger is having a picnic on Sunday to celebrate it’s anniversary. Hard to believe, but they have been doing dialysis since 1963, which also happens to be my birthyear!

Last night we went out to eat with friends, and when I got home I fell asleep. I had a major episode of restless legs, so I took 2 Tylenol #3’s, and slept like a baby all night. I got in almost 10 hours of sleep; I apparently needed it.

Cross-posted at WordPress.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

