Home > Uncategorized > Dialysis Day 100

Dialysis Day 100

 Well, today was my 100th dialysis treatment, which means I’ve had about 220 needle sticks since August, including several times I’ve had procedures and IV’s. Yes, my arm DOES look like a pincushion.

Everything went well today, and I didn’t sleep one bit! I did have a little bit of cramping towards the end, and my pressure did bottom out a little; 105/41, but I was not symptomatic with the low bp.

We had some political discussions again; the nurse I “debated” last week realized that she may have to stay late on Tuesday (PA’s primary election day), but I guess that the hospital has a policy that she has to be allowed time to go vote.

The nurse I had today was good; she got all 3 of us on dialysis quickly, and we got out at a decent time. She surprised me by telling me that she used to work as a Corrections Officer; I told her that she was the LAST person in the world that I would think of as being in that job (meant as a compliment; her personality doesn’t fit that job).

Beginning wt: 96.5 kg. End wt: 92.7 kg.

Now that I hit 100, I was reflecting back on the good and the not-so-good.

The good:

All of the staff at the dialysis unit, most of the patients, feeling better than before I started dialysis, getting in naps (mainly because dialysis makes you tired and it’s very boring), no more BP meds, and learning a lot medically that I didn’t know before.

The not-so-good:

Infiltrates, fistula problems, angioplasty, having a patient 2 chairs over going into cardiac arrest, and not being able to do anything (not used to being a patient), boredom, and fluid restrictions. ‘

I’m sure there’s more, but that’s all I can think of now.

Cross posted at WordPress.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

